Round-leaved Sundew

In an earlier post I noted that I had found two of the three species of sundew that occur in the New Jersey Pine Barrens, but had not yet located the Round-leaved Sundew (Drosera rotundifolia).  My search came to an end in late July while I was hiking in Colliers Mills Wildlife Management Area.  I was busy photographing several flowers and was about to walk away when I noticed the a small patch was covered in sundew.  It only took a couple moments to locate this Round-leaved sundew.

This was a pretty good summer for pine barrens plants, my first year of really attempting to learn about the botany of this amazing area.   I have a few more photos to process and plan to have them posted soon.  In the meantime, I’d love to hear what you think about my sundews!

Comments welcome!!

Leave a Reply

