Happy Birthday J.R.R. Tolkien

J.R.R. Tolkien

It was 1976.  And really cold.  I was stationed at an air force base in Plattsburgh, New York – almost as far north as you could go and still be in New York, or the United States for that matter – when my roommate tossed a book to me and suggested that I give it a try.   

 
I didn’t just enjoy reading the Hobbit.  Enjoy would not adequately describe the sense of being  completely drawn into the book, surrounded by the world of  Middle Earth created by John Ronald Reuel Tolkien.   I could hardly put it down and, once finished, I kept the book with me as a favorite possession (for years).  Shortly after finishing the Hobbit, I discovered the trilogy of the Rings and spent the next few months fighting goblins, evading wizards, and traveling with elves.  Great fun for an 18 year old kid who was farther from home than he had ever been before, farther than he realized, to be sure.
Happy Birthday, Professor Tolkien…and thank you.
3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday J.R.R. Tolkien”

  1. My favorite set of books (and now movies)! 🙂 The Hobbit should be out in movie form in the next few years…I am really looking forward to it! A wonderful tribute to a stupendous author! I wish we all had his imagination!

  2. I was gifted with The Hobbit and The Ring Trilogy by my older sister when I was around 16 and remember that same sense of total immersion in Middle Earth. Even after having seen the scenes put to film, I still have my own ideas of how they actually played out. Thanks for reminding me!

Leave a Reply

