Mini Assignment – Cropping

click on image

 

click on image

 I’m not sure if I did this exactly as the mini-assignment intended, but these photos demonstrate how I often obtain photos of moving objects (like birds).  I spotted the Turkey Vulture soaring above the trees at Whitesbog and tried to guess where it might glide next.  Happily, I was positioned so that the trees made a perfect frame and, luckily, the Vulture decided to glide between them. 

I didn’t have a lot of time to frame the shot, so I centered the area between the trees and took the top photo.  Back home, I cropped the photo to obtain a nicely framed Turkey Vulture positioned near a Rule of Thirds sweet spot.  This is pretty typical example of how I photograph birds, particularly those in flight.  Let me know what you think.

13 thoughts on “Mini Assignment – Cropping”

  1. The cropping really worked will to showcase the bird. The trees make a perfect frame. I photograph butterflies and other insects the same way. I just take Hail Mary shots and hope that they crop well.

  2. Beautiful shot…and crop! When you are going after moving (and fast moving, at that) animals you don’t have much time to think…I like your method, and I always love your bird results!

    1. Hey Ron..this was my first series of shots with my new (to me) Canon XSi and Canon 28-135 mm lense. So far I am very, very happy with the results.

  3. I think it is a great example! The cropped shot is clear, colorful, framed with tree branches and really makes the bird the headliner of the photo! Nicely done.

    1. Hey Julie…if I have time I try to pre-focus on the area. If not, I rely on autofocus and shoot a short burst of three or four frame, hoping for the best. In this case, I was pre-focused.

Leave a Reply

