Theme 358 – What’s Inside?

What's Inside?
What's Inside?

I visited a local park recently that is devoted to the preservation to New Jersey’s bog iron heritage.   Several of the older structures, including a blast furnace, have been restored and preserved so that the area is really more like a walking museum.  I decided to do a photo study of one of the blast furnaces, and began to work my way around the furnace photographing this and that, when I noticed that something was looking back at me from one of the openings.

Great Horned Owl
Great Horned Owl

I took out my binoculars for a closer look and found a Great Horned Owl staring back at me!  I have heard these Owls hooting in the early morning hours, and Steve M took me to a Great Horned Owl nesting site earlier this year.  But this was the first time I had actually discovered an adult owl on the roost.  I quietly photographed the owl and then walked away, hoping not to draw attention to the bird.  Owls are very easily disturbed when on their roost.  Although this owl seemed not to mind me one little bit, I wanted to avoid drawing attention to its location.

4 thoughts on “Theme 358 – What’s Inside?”

  1. They know that people never look inside places like that, and they feel safe! Then you come along, thanks for the peek wonderful bird.

Leave a Reply

